Annual General Meetings

Meeting auditorium

The Philosophy of Physics Society holds annual General Meetings, to which all members are invited to attend.

At this meeting members have the opportunity to review, discuss, and vote on issues related to the Society and its mission. If you would like to participate, please be sure to sign up for membership to the Society.

All meetings take place via Zoom, and we do our best to choose a time zone that serves a large geographic region, although our options are necessarily limited.

First Meeting

The first annual meeting of the Philosophy of Physics Society will take place on Zoom, on Friday, 29 July 2022 at 08:30 PDT / 11:30 EDT / 16:30 BST / 17:30 CEST.

All current members of the Philosophy of Physics Society are welcome, but we require pre-registration for the meeting so we can cross-check attendees against current membership rolls. If you are a member and did not receive a pre-registration link by email, please contact acting secretary Jim Weatherall at to receive one.

There are two principal orders of business for the meeting.

  1. Update membership on the Society’s activities during our first year.
  2. Hold elections for the upcoming year. We will be holding elections for the following positions: President, Treasurer, Secretary, EDI officer, PGR officer, and (additional) Ordinary Trustees (x6).

All elected positions will be two year terms, except for three Ordinary Trustees, which will be 1 year terms so that we will have staggered elections in future years. For further information about these positions, please see our governance page. Complete bye-laws and other governing documents are available in the members area under “documentation”.

Any member may nominate any (other) member, including members of the current working committee, for these positions prior to the meeting. Final details regarding election procedures will be shared with members in advance of the meeting.

To nominate someone, please confirm they are current Society members and that they are willing to serve in the proposed role, and then send your nomination to the acting secretary Jim Weatherall via email at The final deadline for nominations is 17:00 PDT on Friday, 22 July 2022.

If you would like to propose an additional agenda item for the meeting, please contact Jim by email and he will raise it with the other Acting Officers.