Board of Trustees

The Philosophy of Physics Society’s governance currently consists of a Board of Trustees, elected by the Society’s membership and listed below.

The Trustees manage the business of the Society, including governance of the Society’s activities, journal, publishing contracts (currently through the LSE Press), and charitable fundraising activities. All Society members are eligible to stand for election to participate in the governance of the Society.

President, Secretary, and Treasurer

Karim P.Y. Thébault
Karim P.Y. ThébaultPresident
Associate Professor, University of Bristol
James Owen Weatherall
James Owen WeatherallSecretary
Professor, University of California, Irvine
Katie Robertson
Katie RobertsonTreasurer
Research Fellow, University of Birmingham

The President, Secretary and Treasurer are elected by the Society’s membership to manage the governance of the Society for two-year terms. The President plays the Society’s leadership role and chairs the Society’s annual General Meetings. The Secretary calls and manages meetings as well as its administration and compliance. The Treasurer manages the Society’s finances, including its bank accounts and membership dues.

Ordinary Trustees

The Ordinary Trustees of the Society are elected by the Society’s membership for two-year terms as well. The Trustees are charged with managing this website, running the Society’s journal Philosophy of Physics, as well as the Society’s finances and other events and activities in support of the Society’s mission.

Past Ordinary Trustees

Non-Trustee Officers

Non-Trustee Officers are volunteers appointed by the society’s trustees to assist with various society activities.